MENU SEARCH
Executive Leadership Team

Executive Leadership Team

Bob Ritz Headshot

Bob Ritz
Mercy Health Network
Chief Executive Officer

Kent Carr Headshot

Dr. Kent Carr
President, Physician Enterprise

Shane Cerone Headshot

Shane Cerone
Mercy Medical Center Iowa City
Interim Chief Executive Officer

Mary Cownie Headshot

Mary Cownie
Chief of Staff

Jack Dusenbery Headshot

Jack Dusenbery
Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare
President and Chief Executive Officer

Barbara Gessel Headshot

Barbara Gessel
Senior Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer
bgessel@mercydesmoines.org

Dave Hickman Headshot

Dave Hickman
Vice President, Quality and Safety
dhickman@mercydesmoines.org

Karl Keeler Headshot

Karl Keeler
President, Mercy Medical Center Des Moines

Joe LeValley Headshot

Joseph LeValley
Senior Vice President, Planning & Advocacy
jlevalley@mercydesmoines.org

Janell Pittman Headshot

Janell Pittman
Vice President, Marketing and Communications
jpittman@mercydesmoines.org

Rod Schlader Headshot

Rod Schlader
Mercy Medical Center - Sioux City
Interim Chief Executive Officer

Marcia Smith Headshot

Marcia Smith
Vice President and General Counsel

David Swieskowski Headshot

Dr. David Swieskowski
Senior Vice President and President, Mercy ACO
dswieskowski@mercydesmoines.org

Kay Takes Headshot

Kay Takes
Mercy Medical Center - Dubuque
President

Mike Trachta Headshot

Mike Trachta
Vice President, Network Affiliates
mtrachta@mercydesmoines.org

Dan Varnum Headshot

Dan Varnum
Mercy Medical Center - North Iowa
President and Chief Executive Officer

Colleen Walters Headshot

Colleen Walters
Vice President and Chief Mission Integration Officer
cwalters@mercydesmoines.org 

Mike Wegner Headshot

Mike Wegner
Senior Vice President Operations/Chief Financial Officer
 

Sean Williams Headshot

Sean Williams
Mercy Medical Center - Clinton
President and Chief Executive Officer

Mercy Health Network

Legend

Mercy Health Network Hospital icon Mercy Health Network Owned Hospital/Medical Center
Mercy Health Network Affiliated Hospital icon Mercy Health Network Affiliated Hospital/Medical Center
Mercy Health Network Joint Venture icon Mercy Health Network Joint Venture
Mercy Health Network clinics icon Clinic
We always make quality health care and patient safety our top priorities.
Every gift matters. Our local foundations make a difference in our communities.